Pork Chop!

So this week I was walking around HEB trying to figure out what I wanted to make for dinner that night. As I was walking past the meat section I saw 3 bbq seasoned pork chops that looked too good to pass up. I knew I wanted to eat a salad and some vegetables as well. So I picked up some rice, spinach, broccoli and cauliflower. I wasn’t really sure how to cook pork chops so I went on Pinterest and found a really easy recipe!

So to get started to you want add olive oil and butter to a large skillet and let that simmer. This recipe calls for you to add salt and pepper to your pork chop, but since they were already seasoned I skipped this part. Now you want to add the pork chops to the skillet. You want to let them cook for about 5 minutes on each side and continue this process 2 times until the pork chops are a nice juicy brown color. They didn’t look ready enough so I covered the skillet and let them sit for 5 more minutes! I also wanted to add some mushrooms on top of the pork chops for a little more taste. Next I got some frozen vegetables so I just heated those up in the microwave for 5 minutes. And the rice I got was also microwave heat up. For my salad, I bought some organic spinach and then added some carrots and avocado that I had at home. And topped that with a balsamic vinaigrette!

Credit: Ashley Hale

This was one of my favorite meals so far! I’ve only had pork chops a few times but these were delicious! I bought 3 of them for $4.09 which lasted me 3 meals! With my healthy sides, this meal doesn’t go over 600 calories! I am really pleased with the outcome of this meal! I will post the directions bellow for how to cook the pork chops incase you want to follow these instructions instead! Overall I spent under $10 for this entire meal! Super cheap, super healthy and very delicious!

 

Add the olive oil and butter to a large skillet (preferably cast iron) and place it over medium heat.
Sprinkle half the salt and pepper to one side of the pork chops. When the butter’s melted and it starts to look foamy, add the pork chops to the skillet, seasoned-side down. Season the other side with the remaining salt and pepper.
Allow the pork chops to sear for 5 minutes, and then flip them. Continue cooking the pork chops on the second side for 10 minutes, and then flip the pork chops one more time.
Cover the skillet, cook them for 5 minutes more, and then remove the pork chops to a plate to rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

